Money, Internet, Investing
14 Nov

At last after two months I got the welcome email to Live Search Webmaster Tools Private Beta. It also says that resending this invite, as some email addresses may not work. Anyway you try for yourself.
Thank you for participating in the Live Search Webmaster Tools Beta! Your patience is greatly appreciated as we obtained authorization for your access to the tools.
Accessing the Webmaster Tools
You are now authorized to use the Live Search Webmaster Tools Beta and begin testing. Please access the beta here (this URL is also posted on the Connect site):
Follow the “Webmaster tools (beta)” link on this page.
12 Nov

I have received my first invitation to Live Search Webmaster Portal back in October. Today I received another email from the Live Search Team regarding the same.
On behalf of the entire Live Search Webmaster Portal Beta team, we are very happy to invite you to be one of the first beta users. We look forward to working with you over the coming months on the Live Search Webmaster Portal Beta program. Please confirm your participating webmaster/SEO manager contact(s) by sending an email to lswmp [at] microsoft.com with your Windows Live ID.
9 Oct
Assuming you took my advice, had a great idea, created and hosted your blog, you want to start making some money with the traffic you are beginning to receive. Next comes the exciting part, making money. The first thing, I always do when making a web site, is look for keywords to describe it. That way I can better identify the site to my potential users. This process usually means making a list of keywords on a piece of paper and refining it until I am down to about five to six quality keywords. Quality keywords would be described as a word that is specific yet ambiguous enough to attract visitors outside the realm of a normal keyword. An example would be boating, if your site is about boating, you could use only that keyword, but you may want to include sailing. Even though you are getting more specific, you are still ambiguous enough to grab the attention of someone who might not consider boating, sailing. This is a hard concept to understand, and takes time and patience to master.
Once your keywords are in place, make sure they are meta tagged within your web site (Meta data is essentially data about data. It describes your site search engines, and more importantly advertisers who advertise content based ads), you can find tons of information regarding this all over the net. I personally use Submitnet; this lets me input the exact meta tag keywords quickly and easily. It’s not a FREE service but it offers a 90 Day Free Trial (A $47 Value). You can signup and then cancel that service after your blog is setup or you can continue with the service, it costs $47 for three months. Or you can use a Free Tool. I recommend SEO Chat’s Meta Tag Generator or Advanced Meta Tag Generator.
Here’s a Sample Meta Tag:
<meta name=”keywords” content=”google, microsoft, yahoo, internet marketing, web hosting, blogging, make money online, wordpress, lifestyle, webmasters”/>
I identify my meta data in the <head> tags of my html, most people do the same. You do NOT want to put keywords in your tags that inaccurately describe your site. If you were to add something you thought was going to drive more traffic, and it has nothing to do with your site, you will be found out and ultimately your site ranking will fall. Site ranking refers to the ranking a site gets by a search engine such as “Google”, or “Yahoo!”. Ultimately site ranking optimization is part of search engine optimization, also known as SEO. Meta tagging is very important when optimizing your site for search engines.
Generally after your meta tagging is done and you have firmly established your keywords, it is time to start putting up ads. To do this, there is only one site I would recommend using, that is Google. They are the only ones who will approve just about anyone, other than adult content sites, and will pay when they say they will. That is why the majority of online advertisements are through them. Their service is known as Google AdSense. AdSense, allows you to offer your users targeted ads that are relevant to your site. It would be bad if your site was about Home Ownership and your ads were about Foot Massagers. Google has come up with a unique method of targeting your customers based on what it identifies as content on your site. It does most of this through the use of meta tagging.
In the next part I’ll tell you more about Google AdSense (Is it possible to earn $100,000 a year from Google AdSense?) and also about how to drive traffic using Google AdWords to your blog.
Related:
How To Make Money Online Blogging (Part I)
How To Make Money Online Blogging (Part II)
7 Oct

Search Engine Marketing can be an effective, low-cost way to get new customers to find your business online because you only pay when a prospective customer clicks on your ad. Therefore, an important step in setting up your campaign is determining your target budget and how much you are willing to pay each time your ad is clicked. This price may vary by keyword, and can fluctuate from month-to-month.
When setting up your search engine marketing campaigns you set a maximum bid for the price you are willing to pay each time someone clicks your ad. Your maximum bid amount in combination with the relevancy of your keywords to the content on your website influences your ad’s position in the search results. In general, the more you bid, the higher the position your ad will have.
Keyword Bidding is driven by supply and demand. The more advertisers that are bidding on your keywords, the higher price value those keywords hold. Keyword value is subject to what the market will bear.
When you enter your keywords you can see the estimated bid required for your ad to reach position number one in search results and determine how you would like to bid based on that information. It should be noted that holding the first position is not always imperative to driving traffic to your website. A compelling offer in your ad can make it successful regardless of position in the search results.
One way to consider pricing your keyword bids is to determine how much you are willing to spend to acquire a new customer for your product or service. For example, if you sell bicycles that cost $700 and your profit on each sale is $100, how much of that profit do you want to put into advertising? This amount will vary by company, but let’s say you are willing to spend $20 per bicycle in advertising costs.
The average conversion rate for paid search campaigns is about 2%, so you would want to bid no more than $.40 per keyword ($20 x 0.02% = $0.40). Remember, your bid is only half of the equation in your search ranking—your keyword’s relevance to the content of your website also plays a factor.
As your campaign progresses an historical data is collected, you will begin to see trends in the performance of your keywords. This data allows you to adjust your bidding strategy and reallocate your spend to keywords that are most effective. A good rule of thumb is to review your campaign performance at least once per month and optimize based on factors such as quantity of clicks and conversion rates.
» Sign Up for Yahoo! Search Marketing and get $199 of FREE Marketing Credits
Source: Start adCenter
6 Oct

Having your company appear when a prospective customer is searching online for your product or service is important because you’re reaching out to people when they’re ready to buy.
There are two pieces involved in playing the search engine game: Search Engine Optimization and Search Engine Marketing.
Search Engine Optimization is the process of informing search engines that your website exists. To make sure that your business appears as often as possible, you need to:
1. Submit your website to be crawled by search engines. Most major search engines provide a way to list your site.
2. Make sure that the keywords related to your products or services are listed throughout the text of your site. Most search engines are sophisticated enough to read through your content to pick up those keywords. Once a search engine has crawled your site and determined that your content is related to a given search term, your site will generally be listed higher in search results.
Advertising with a search engine is an effective, low-cost way to help new customers find your business when they are online looking to buy. When customers type words into a search engine, and those words match what your business has to offer, your advertisement appears in a special section of the search results page. You can target your advertising campaigns by audience type and demographics, and you only pay when a prospective customer clicks on your ad.
Reach: Use the power of the Internet to drive awareness of your business and find new customers.
Research: Track your traffic, measure your results, and use your research reports to plan your next search marketing campaign.
ROI: Use targeting tools to reach out to the right audience at the right time, which can help improve your return on investment.
Sign Up for Yahoo! Search Marketing and get $199 of FREE Marketing Credits
Source: Start adCenter
6 Oct

Search Engine Marketing can be an effective, low-cost way to get new customers to find your business when they’re online looking to buy. Maybe you’ve heard about search marketing, also called keyword advertising, but as a small business you wonder if you can justify the expense of advertising online. Search marketing isn’t just for big companies with big budgets.
In today’s marketplace, being a competitive business typically
involves hosting and maintaining a Web site as a means of
communicating with your customers. Search engine marketing is the art of using search engines as a way to drive more traffic to your website. Think of it like the yellow pages for the Internet. But, unlike more traditional marketing methods, you don’t have to spend a lot of time or money to stand out in the crowd!
When you advertise via search engines, your advertisement appears in a special section of the search results page when customers search for goods or services that match what your business has to offer. 80% of Web usage starts with a search engine, so a search engine marketing strategy makes sense if you want to acquire new customers through your website.
Compare cost per lead on an average is about $0.29 versus $1.18 for yellow pages advertising and $9.94 for direct mail inserts as you set your bids to match your budget.
You pick your keywords and set your own price per click.
You can target your keywords by the cities, times of day and
customer demographics you want the most.
Your ad appears when someone searches for a word that matches one of your keywords.
You pay only when people click your keywords.
In about an hour, you can start your search engine marketing campaign:
Create a campaign based on demographics targeting and
tracking preferences.
Build your keyword list, set your budget, place bids, and submit.
Sign Up for Yahoo! Search Marketing and get $199 of FREE Marketing Credits
Source: Start adCenter
5 Oct
Did you setup a blog? If yes, then it’s time to make it a better one. In order to grab the attention of people your idea must be unique.
Consider the following points when you think about an idea:
1. Is it something which you can do? You don’t want to get yourself in over your head. If you want to sell cars online, but only have one car to sell, you may want to make sure you have the
financial resources behind you before you start up your site.
2. Who else is doing it? What can you bring to the table if there is someone else doing what you want to do? If they are selling a product, can you offer more variety or maybe just better quality of that product?
3. Who is going to be the audience? If you are targeting teenagers, you better know how they think. Do your research; odds are if you are creating a social networking site, you’re going to need a gimmick to reel them in and keep them coming back.
4. How much money can you invest, and what do you expect to make? If you are reading this, you probably want to make money and lots of it!
When developing your concept, make sure you have a vision of how it should look and function. If your blog needs some sort of programming and you are not a web programmer then find someone who has a repertoire or work that embodies your idea.
Keep in mind, not every idea you have will be feasible for your budget, and not every programmer will agree with your vision of the site. It is your job to push this person to stay in line with what your wish to accomplish.
When creating your blog consider the following:
1. Simplicity, in the past, the more glitzy and graphical your site looks, the better. Not anymore. Now, you should have a blog that runs fast, looks good at any resolution and feels intuitive to the user.
2. Logo design does make a difference. Do not let your logo become an afterthought. A logo is your image, it should convey some idea of your sites usefulness or content, and it should look professional. If you have a logo that looks like your thirteen year old nephew made it, perhaps a professional logo designer would be worth the investment. Talk to your web site designer, he will know someone or could even do it themselves.
3. Functionality, if your blog claims to give something, then make sure it does. Test, test and re-test. If you rush the project, it simply isn’t going to make a good impression.